She Knits: Frasier Fir Socks

I received the pale green yarn in a recent swap (along with the yarn for the Portobello shawl I recently posted).

Progression Info
Started – April 12
Completed – May 30
Duration – 48 days = 6.9 weeks

These socks “hibernated” for a week or two, at least once. We have been busy. Plus, I had a little hiccup toward the end that made me put the socks away for a week. I just couldn’t look at them. πŸ˜€ I ran out of the pale green yarn about an inch from the ribbing on the second sock. So, to make them match, I had to pick out the ribbing and about 1/2″ of the leg on theΒ first sock, in order to use a bit of the pale green to knit another 1/2″ on the second sock. Then, of course,Β reknit the first ribbing, and knit the second ribbing. It only took one evening to do all of that, but it was daunting so I had put it off for a week. πŸ˜€

Pattern Info
Frasier Fir Socks by Verena Cohrs
Ravelry
size – EU 38-40

These fit almost perfectly — I should have knit the foot 1/4 – 1/2″ longer before starting the gusset. The heel turn and flap is pulled down a bit while worn. Otherwise, though, they feel great. πŸ™‚

Yarn Info
Eden Cottage Yarns Oakworth 4ply
100% Polwarth wool
Colorway – forest light
1 skein = 436 yds used

This has been my first experience with Polwarth wool. It is medium-soft, I’d say. It has a nice stitch definition, not highly-twisted, not too fuzzy. I like it. πŸ™‚

The contrast cuff yarn is a hand-dyed sock yarn mini-skein I have from a rainbow set I won some time ago. The dyer is Norwegian. πŸ™‚

Photos

2 thoughts on “She Knits: Frasier Fir Socks

Leave a Reply

