She Knits: Jaywalking Pigeon Socks

Another pair of socks for myself.

Progression
Started – November 23
Completed – December 17
Duration – 24 days = 3.4 weeks

I only spent about a week actually knitting on these. I had trouble motivating myself to get them done.

Pattern Info
Jaywalker by Grumperina
Ravelry

This pattern has been popular for ages, it seems… and I finally know why. It is the perfect pattern for self-striping yarns! I don’t buy self-striping yarn very often because it doesn’t look good knit into socks with much texture or stitch patterning — but plain socks are boring to knit. This pattern is the perfect solution: enough stitch patterning to be interesting to knit and make a neat design, but simple enough to broadcast the self-striping yarn. And they fit perfectly, too!

Yarn Info
Sirdar Sole to Sole
75% wool, 25% nylon
Colorway: 52 Pigeon Toes
0.60 skeins = 268.8 yds used

I bought this as a little treat for myself when I ordered the yarn for the Christmas gifts I knit this year. I would count this a mid-range sock yarn. Not buttery soft, but also not too scratchy.

Photos

 

One thought on “She Knits: Jaywalking Pigeon Socks

Leave a Reply

