She Knits: Father Cables Hat

This is the hat I knit for my niece as part of her Christmas gift set.

Progression
Started – November 10
Completed – November 16
Duration – 6 days = 0.9 weeks

I am surprised how quickly this knit up. I think it is partially due to the weight of yarn, though.

Pattern Info
father cables by Veronika Jobe
Ravelry

I knit this in size S/M and made the slouch version. I think it is a fashionable look, currently. I hope it will fit her. When I first began this, I substituted 1×1 twisted rib for the regular ribbing, but it looked awkward with the cables coming out of the twisted rib. So I started over and like the design as written much better.

Yarn Info
Valley Yarns Haydenville
60% superwash merino wool, 40% microfiber
Colorway – 12 Purple
0.92 skeins = 202.4 yds used

This is a wonderful yarn to knit. I hope it holds up well to cleaning — it is labeled as machine washable. It is very soft, “springy,” and has excellent stitch definitions, which makes the cabling beautiful.

Purple is my niece’s favorite color, and I just love this deeper tone.

Photos

4 thoughts on “She Knits: Father Cables Hat

  1. Pingback: She Knits: Cabled Mitts for a Tween | Beloved Brown-Eyed Girl

Leave a Reply

