She Plans: Bullet Journal Series

I like to make plans. I like to have a schedule. I like to have at least a vague idea of what is happening next week, month, even year. I adapt pretty well to schedule changes and exceptions, but perform best when there is a schedule from which to deviate. I also like to make lists. Writing down a task or event or list of things to take along aids my memory. The physical action of writing, I mean. I rarely need to refer back to my lists, except to check things off (which is fun!).

In school, I kept planners to make note of assignments, exams, projects, and class events. At that time, I had sufficient “data” to fill the day boxes of a traditional planner. After graduating from college, I was a homemaker without kids for almost two years. I tried the same traditional planner style and… well, it didn’t work. Most of my day consisted of routine, not scheduled meetings or events. I wrote many task lists, but they were individual to-do lists with no cohesive system behind them.

After having my first child, I tried again to keep a planner. And again, it didn’t work. Some days were full of activity and overflowed their boxes. Other days were routine and left completely blank.

I tried not scheduling anything. I tried writing down weekly cleaning routines and meal plans and storing those in a binder (Google “household management binder” for fancy examples). I was frustrated. To-do lists are most helpful for me, but individual lists become scattered, disorganized, and forgotten. And what about those few events I do need to schedule (birthday parties, family gatherings, doctor appointments, etc.)? I was a mess.

A few months ago, I found the Bullet Journal system. I was skeptical, at first. Does a stay-at-home mom of two young kids need to plan her days? I don’t have school events, extracurricular activities, playgroups/dates, toddler group lessons, or job appointments to track. I just clean and play with my kids and do crafts and cook meals all day.

Yes.

Even a stay-at-home mom can use a place to write notes, to-do lists, schedules, and make plans. Even a stay-at-home mom can benefit from organizing her life and thoughts into a system that makes input and retrieval easy.

The Bullet Journal (BuJo) system can be customized to suit anyone’s lifestyle, career, and needs. Also, it can be adapted even by the day. It is organized, sufficient, portable, and easy to learn.

I love it.

In the next two posts of this series, I will share reasons the BuJo system is superior to traditional planners, my adaptations to the basic system, and how I use my BuJo day-to-day.

5 thoughts on “She Plans: Bullet Journal Series

  1. Pingback: She Plans: My Bullet Journal | Beloved Brown-Eyed Girl

  2. Pingback: She Plans: How I Bullet Journal | Beloved Brown-Eyed Girl

Leave a Reply

