She Knits: Subtle Stripes Baby Top

This is the second baby swap knit: a cute little short-sleeved top. I think it would look cute over a long-sleeved onesie or T-shirt in the winter.

Progression
Started – July 5
Completed – July 13
Duration – 8 days = 1.1 weeks

This knit up surprisingly quick.

Pattern Info
Nova by Signe Strømgaard
Ravelry
Size: 2T

This is actually a pattern for a baby dress; obviously, I made some modifications.

For the body:

  • CO 160 stitches
  • only 6 increase sections, worked as described in pattern
  • begin striping only after completing increases
  • Picot folded hem: with smaller needles, knit 6 rounds, one round of (k2tog, yo) completely around, then 6 more rounds. Switch to larger needles, knit next round together with cast-on edge. Folded hem “counts” as 6 rounds in pattern.

For the sleeves:

  • CO 46 stitches
  • Picot folded hem, as described above for the body.
  • Joined for yoke immediately after the round where cast-on edge is hemmed with the work.

In the project notes on Ravelry, a lot of people said the dress knits up on the small size, which is why I knit the 2T for a one-year-old. I hope it will fit over the winter!

One reason I chose this pattern was for the dual-sided yoke opening. Jelly Bean’s McDreamy sweater has a single-sided yoke opening that introduced me to this style of closure. I liked it so much, I chose one with double the fun!

Nate made the buttons for me. Lovely and perfectly smooth.

Yarn Info
Knit Picks Palette
100% wool
Colorway: Pennyroyal (purple)
0.24 skeins = 55.4 yds used
Colorway: Clarity (blue)
1.04 skeins = 240.2 yds used

One reason I shortened the dress into a top was out of concern I didn’t have enough yarn. Now, I know that I would have had plenty of yarn for a dress and more stripes ( the entire dress is supposed to be striped). Ah, well. I think this looks cute and hope the mother agrees enough to dress her sweet babe in it! 😉

Photos

One thought on “She Knits: Subtle Stripes Baby Top

Leave a Reply

