She Knits: Autumn Mittens

With two small kids likely wanting to play outside this winter, I will probably use a pair of warm mittens. 🙂

Progression Info
Started – August 30
Completed – September 5
Duration – 6 days = 0.9 weeks

I could have finished these in only a couple of days (it feels like I say that a lot…), but I had to make several modifications to make them fit me. I didn’t realize I needed to change the pattern until I was almost finished knitting the first mitt!

Pattern Info
Simple Autumn Mittens by Halldora  J
Ravelry

These are great mittens, but the pattern is only written for one size: women’s medium. My hands are not medium-sized. My hands are wide across the base of my thumbs, and long from base of thumb to wrist. My modifications:

  • Cast on using Jeny’s Surprisingly Stretchy Cast-On (JSSCO), the companion to Jeny’s Bind-Off (JSSBO) that is fairly common. This is the first time I used it. It is slow and  tedious, but aptly named, and it looks tidy.
  • Worked 1×1 twisted rib on the cuffs. This is quickly becoming my go-to ribbing because my regular, non-twisted rib doesn’t look neat.
  • Only knit 2 inches of ribbing, which was 15 rounds
  • Increased by 3 stitches on first round after ribbing, instead of 2, which gave me…
  • … An extra thumb stitch at the base of the thumb
  • More thumb increases –> ended with 22 thumb stitches
  • Worked an extra lace repeat on the hand, for a total of 7
  • Began thumb decreases with 25 stitches (22 original plus 3 picked up); worked total of 4 decrease rounds as described in pattern (17 stitches left)
  • Worked 8 plain rounds before decreasing as in the pattern and finishing thumb

Yarn Info
Knit Picks Wool of the Andes Sport
100% wool
Colorway – Dove Heather
1.12 skeins = 153.1 yds used

I made these from yarn leftover from my cardigan.

Photos

3 thoughts on “She Knits: Autumn Mittens

  1. Pingback: She Knits: Sprout’s Mittens – Beloved Brown-Eyed Girl

Leave a Reply

