She Knits: Everyday Socks

This is the 9th pair of socks I have knit for myself (15th total!), and I have come to a few conclusions.

I prefer short-legged socks. Not only are they quicker and easier to knit (no calf shaping), they are more comfortable to wear.

I prefer heel flaps and gussets to other heel constructions. I haven’t tried every heel technique available, but heel flaps fit me better.

I prefer knitting socks top-down, that is, from cuff to toe. I don’t have any logical reasons for this preference, though.

These socks satisfy all of those preferences. And they are pretty. Bonus.

Progression
Started – June 21
Completed – July 5
Duration – 14 days = 2 weeks

These were very quick; I could have knit them over a long weekend if I had large chunks of time to dedicate fully to knitting.

Pattern Info
Hermoine’s Everyday Socks by Erica Leuder
Ravelry

This is a fun pattern. The detail on the instep looks complex but is simple to work. I think it looks like tiny bows all down the top of the foot.

Yarn Info
Knit Picks Palette
100% wool
Pennyroyal colorway
1 skein = 231.0 yds used

Only one skein! Another “plus” for short socks.

Photos

2 thoughts on “She Knits: Everyday Socks

Leave a Reply

