You Are A Fiery Comet

Sister,

If I were a twinkling star shining cheerfully in the ebony night sky, you would be a comet shooting past in a fiery fury.

If I were a bowl of simple savory chicken noodle soup, you would be a give-the-sniffles spicy curry.

If I were a stream winding through a quiet forest, you would be waves breaking on a rocky shore.

If I were a romantic drama with a predictable fairy tale ending, you would be a suspenseful thriller with a plot twist and cliff-hanger right at the end.

We are opposite in many ways. We approach life differently. Me: cautious, hesitating, nervous, withdrawn. You: bold, fearless, excited, outgoing. In recent years, I have come to appreciate your perspective and value your advice. I can depend on you being there, always at the ready, to advise or just listen.

I don’t know how to tell you how much I love you, how proud I am to call you my big sister, how special it feels to be right up there at the top of your list. We haven’t always gotten along. I regret the time we wasted bickering. But now, I look forward to as many more decades as God gives us with you as my confidant, my friend, my sister.

Happy birthday.

2 thoughts on “You Are A Fiery Comet

Leave a Reply

