She Knits: McDreamy Sweater

I have eyed this pattern since finding out Jelly Bean was a boy. I finally made it. My wonderful husband made the sweet little wooden buttons for me. They are so perfect for this sweater.

Progression
Started – May 15
Completed – June 16
Duration – 32 days = 4.6 weeks

I worked on one other project during this time. If I had knit on this exclusively, I could have finished it in 1-2 weeks, I think.

Pattern Info
B21-15 McDreamy Jumper by DROPS design
Ravelry

Let me preface the next statement by saying this: I love how this sweater turned out. But it was not a fun knit. I have knit DROPS patterns in the past, so I thought I knew what to expect going into this one. Whew! it was tough. Everything went swimmingly until the top of the yoke, where the neckband begins. It simply didn’t make a lick of sense. I ended up doing what I could to make the sweater turn out as the picture showed. Again, I’m happy with the result. I love it, in fact. I may even knit this pattern again someday. But now I know that the neckline instructions can just be ignored.

I did not take notes on my modifications of the neckline, but here’s what I remember. I knit extra raglan decrease rows in order to obtain the desired number of stitches at the front neck. For the “neckline shaping,” I worked two short rows across the front set of stitches, decreasing 2 stitches each row at the center front. I did not do any wrapping; when I came to that little jog on the way back around around, I just knit across it, pulling the stitches snug. I can’t see a hole there, so I suppose it worked out.

I picked up and knit 32 stitches for each button band on the “raglan edge.”

I purled a row around the neck before beginning the ribbing. I did not knit the fold-over ribbing on the neck; it looked too bulky. I knit the neckline ribbing about the same height as the button bands are wide.

I knit the 12/18 month size, and my gauge was spot-on with slightly smaller needles than given in the pattern (size 2.75 mm and 2.0 mm). It fits a little big right now, so I expect it to fit perfectly come colder weather in November-ish.

Yarn Info
Knit Picks Comfy Sport
75% cotton, 25% acrylic
Seafoam colorway
3.22 skeins = 437.9 yds used

I do not enjoy knitting with cotton, especially at such a tight gauge. But this yarn makes such darling baby/kid sweaters, I’m sure I’ll use it again. It is soft, will wash beautifully, and is just warm enough for the climate here. Also, you can’t beat the range of colors available!

I have more than 1.5 skeins left, so I hope to find a hat pattern to go with this sweater.

Photos

5 thoughts on “She Knits: McDreamy Sweater

  1. Pingback: She Knits: JB’s Winter ’16 Hat – Beloved Brown-Eyed Girl

  2. Pingback: She Knits: Subtle Stripes Baby Top – Beloved Brown-Eyed Girl

Leave a Reply

