She Knits: Decimal Cardigan

This is, technically, my second attempt at a cardigan for myself. The first ended up almost unwearable due to a poor yarn choice (acrylic for someone who sweats easily was just a bad decision!).

Progression
Started – March 1
Completed – May 6
Duration – 66 days = 9.4 weeks

I am pleased with the amount of time this required.

Pattern Info
Decimal by Snowden Becker
Knitty, Spring 2009

This pattern caused me some frustration. I did not find it intuitive or very clear in some places, so I had to just make it work however I could. It is not meant to be a pattern suitable for a beginner, and I knew that when I chose it, but I did expect clarity, especially from a Knitty pattern. Some of the troubles could be editing errors and miscounts, but I could not find anyone on Ravelry having the same troubles. That makes me think I just was not understanding the pattern.

I modified the sleeves. The pattern is for 3/4-length bell-shaped sleeves. I eliminated the bell shape by starting with fewer stitches at the cuff and increasing to finish the sleeve with the number of stitches I needed. I did not intentionally modify the length, but the sleeves are fitting me closer to a full-length sleeve.

Some of the issues come just from my own body shape. I had to knit the 2x size for the cardigan to fit in the bust. Unfortunately, that means it is a little too large everywhere else, like in the armhole depth, the sleeve length, and the sleeve circumference. If I were a more proficient knitter, I could probably make some changes, but I am not that skilled yet. 😉

Also, the fit is a little funny in the pictures below because I am just wearing a tank top underneath (it’s getting HOT). It will likely fit better over a snug T-shirt come next winter.

Overall, I am satisfied and expect to wear this a lot in late fall and early winter. 🙂

Yarn Info
Knit Picks Wool of the Andes Sport
100% wool
Dove Heather colorway
11 skeins = 1503.7 yds used

I don’t have much to say about this yarn yet. It was nice to knit with, and I like the color. But I have no idea of the wearability yet. 🙂

Photos

5 thoughts on “She Knits: Decimal Cardigan

  1. Pingback: She Knits: Autumn Mittens – Beloved Brown-Eyed Girl

  2. Pingback: She Knits: Sprout’s Mittens – Beloved Brown-Eyed Girl

Leave a Reply

