Found on Pinterest: Crispy Black Bean & Rice Burritos (Recipe)

I have been on a hunt lately for healthy, filling lunch recipes for me to have during the week. It is an attempt to eat fewer peanut butter sandwiches that leave my tummy rumbling by two PM.

This burrito recipe from Gimme Delicious appeared to fit the bill.

and a dollop of sour cream


My Modifications

I used some leftover Spanish rice in place of the plain rice — more flavor is better, if you ask me. And I substituted sliced green onion for the white/yellow onion because I already had it chopped.

Why I Liked This Recipe

Crispy. Hearty. Savory. Gooey. Healthy. What’s not to love?

The filling kept well in the refrigerator for about a week, which made lunch very quick. This recipe would be easy to modify, although it is yummy as written. I’ve estimated it to pack about 350-400 calories.

This recipe is a good use of leftovers. It would be tasty with all kinds of vegetables inside and just about any kind of cheese.

I paired it with a simple salad of Romaine and baby spinach and a homemade creamy cilantro dressing.

Downsides to This Recipe

The initial prep and cooking takes more time than I typically would spend on a lunch meal. Since I cook every night, I don’t usually cook at lunch time because then it feels like I’ve spent all day in the kitchen. But every day I had it after the first, it was really quick!

Overall Impression

I intend to make this again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

