Found on Pinterest: Cinnamon Roll Cake (Recipe)

I love cinnamon rolls (or buns or whatever you happen to call the yeast-risen pastries filled with brown sugar and cinnamon). I don’t like making cinnamon rolls, though. Real-deal cinnamon rolls require a yeast-risen dough that needs time to, well, rise. I’ve tried a few cheater recipes that use store-bought biscuit dough or flaky frozen pastry dough, but they haven’t worked out.

Pinterest has been over-run with recipes for cinnamon roll cake recently. I’ve been craving sweets something fierce this week, so I tried this recipe from the Li’l Luna blog.

My Modifications

I don’t know if it’s taboo, but I like cinnamon rolls with nuts in them. After swirling in the topping, I sprinkled about 1/2 cup of chopped pecans on top. Yum. When I write the recipe on a card to go in my recipe box, I’ll be including the nuts. 🙂

Why I Liked This Recipe

It tasted just like a cinnamon roll. It was just sweet enough. The cake was moist and fluffy. The glaze set up perfectly.

Downsides to This Recipe

I found it difficult to swirl the topping into the cake batter. Maybe I just don’t have enough experience. Maybe I should have portioned the topping in smaller bits across the top. I don’t know, really. I’ve seen countless YouTube videos of “swirl” cakes, and they always make the swirling technique look really easy.

Overall Impression

This is definitely a recipe to keep around. 🙂 It paired wonderfully the next morning with a piping hot mug of coffee, too. We are a dessert-for-breakfast sort of family. Hehe. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Found on Pinterest: Cinnamon Roll Cake (Recipe)

    • Yes, it was a problem I had with that theme. I’ve changed to a new one, so hopefully easier to spot my sneaky links. 🙂 Unfortunately, Nate is not picky about many things, so the nuts did not deter *him* at all. Really, though, who could eat a 9″ x 13″ cake all by themselves! Or who *should*, at the very least?

Leave a Reply

