Sprouts Turns One!

The past year has been a roller coaster of experiences. I’ve cried tears of both joy and frustration. I’ve marveled at this little child’s innocence and then at her sinful nature of defiance. God has blessed me beyond measure by allowing me to mother this sweet, giggly little girl.

And in the past year, I have learned so much about Him through parenting her.

I’ve learned about mercy and grace and love and discipline and thankfulness and joy.

I’ve learned about prayer. I pray for her soul, that she will grow to know and follow Jesus Christ. I pray for her mind, that she will learn to obey and grow to be self-disciplined. I pray for her body, that she will sleep well, eat well, be healthy, and grow in strength. I pray for her purity in a world that revels in sin. I pray for her future, that she will know the love of a husband in a Christ-centered marriage and will someday also know the pure joy of motherhood.

And then I think of this (John 3:16):

For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.

My love for her, though great, is dwarfed.

And then, I pray she will know His love for her.

Because there is none greater.

5 thoughts on “Sprouts Turns One!

Leave a Reply

