She Knits: Julius’ Blanket

This is a blanket I knit for my sister’s baby.

Progression
Started – November 25
Completed – January 20

I started this in time to take to Thanksgiving celebrations. I put it aside occasionally to work on other projects.

Knit baby blankets always take longer than crocheted versions. But when I saw this pattern, I just had to make it. I think it has a very traditional look, but the gray gives it a more modern feel, which is something my sister will appreciate.

Pattern Info
Cabled Cradle Spread by Anna & Heidi Pickles
Ravelry

Try saying the name of this pattern five times fast! It is a lovely pattern, though I found a couple of mistakes in it. I noted my revisions on my Ravelry project page (guest link).

I knit my blanket as long as I could, to use up the yarn I bought. The finished dimensions are about 27″ by 36″. It is very long and narrow, for a baby blanket, because it is a cable spread. The narrow width is so the blanket fits into the narrow cradle better. I think this would also make a nice stroller or car seat blanket because the extra length could be tucked up under the baby’s feet.

The cables make the blanket slinky and stretchy and squishy and wonderful. Also, they give the pattern just enough detail to make the knitting interesting.

I considered adding a colored crochet border to this, but refrained. If I knit this again, though, I might go for it. I think a colored crab stitch or slip stitch around the edge would look very nice.

Yarn Info
Knit Picks Comfy Worsted
75% cotton, 25% acrylic
Whisker
8 skeins = 872 yards used

This is the same line of yarn I used for Sprout’s Romper. Therefore, I knew how it would wash. It will get fuzzy, pill slightly, and lose a touch of its shine, but none of that is horrible in a baby blanket. The cotton/acrylic blend is breathable and soft and squishy.

I was able to use all of the 8 skeins I bought for this project. I had to fudge the last repeat of the pattern slightly, and I was only able to work 9 rows of the last garter stitch border instead of the 10 needed to match the beginning border. I finished with a measly 27 inches of yarn, so I’m very pleased with myself. 🙂

Photos
These photos are all taken before washing.

5 thoughts on “She Knits: Julius’ Blanket

  1. Pingback: A Year of Crafting: 2015 | Beloved Brown-Eyed Girl

Leave a Reply

