Found on Pinterest: Blueberry Muffins (Recipe)

I had a hankering for blueberry muffins yesterday morning and didn’t have any recipes in my box. I knew where to turn, though… Pinterest. 🙂

This recipe from the Mess for Less blog looked promising. They turned out pretty good… I mean, we ate them, so they obviously weren’t bad.

My Modifications

The only substitution I made was frozen berries for fresh. I do not think this change affected the recipe at all.

Why I Liked This Recipe

The muffins were very moist: a nice change from the box-mix muffins I’ve made in the past. They also have lots of butter right in the batter, so the flavor came through in the final product. This negated the need for added butter at the table, something Nate seemed to prefer.

Downsides to This Recipe

The batter was very, very wet. Therefore, the muffins, though moist, were a spongy consistency, as opposed to the cake-like muffins that are more familiar to me. If I use this recipe again, I will add more flour into the batter, possibly as much as 1/2 cup.

Also, though this isn’t really a downside, this recipe made more than the stated 12 muffins — I got 16 out of it. If more flour is added, I’d expect to get another one or two, then. I happen to have two muffin pans that fit side-by-side on a single rack in my oven, so this was no problem. But if I only had one pan (or if only one fit in the oven at a time), I might be annoyed at the amount of batter left and the extra time required to swap tins.

Overall Impression

This was a good recipe, though I’ll still be on the look-out for a better muffin base to try. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Found on Pinterest: Blueberry Muffins (Recipe)

  1. Sounds yummy. Maybe yours was wetter because you used frozen and not fresh. There is more moisture in the frozen ones. I might try this when I get some blueberries.

  2. Ooh interesting, I’ve never seen a muffin box mix so I don’t know how they compare, but the mixture looks pretty much like when I make muffins (I also don’t know how the muffins I make differ frorm American ones, as about twenty years ago muffins suddenly got “discovered” over here and suddenly cafés sold them and recipes and muffin tins were everywhere!). I think using frozen berries would add moisture though – I know that happens when I use frozen blackberries in a crumble? I usually use sunflower oil with mine (saves having to melt butter). I am also intrigued by the idea of adding butter at the table (like with toast?) as I’ve always just eaten muffins like cake!

Leave a Reply

