She Knits: Fingerless Mitts for Mom

My mom has been asking for house socks for a while now… so I knit her fingerless mittens instead. 😛

That’s not the whole story, of course. I haven’t found the right pattern/yarn for socks for her, yet, and I thought she could use these mittens. While wearing these, you can still drive, manipulate car/house keys, type on a computer, and craft (Mom does needlepoint on plastic canvas).

Progression
Started – November 25
Completed – December 1

These were surprisingly quick to knit, considering the amount of cabling.

Pattern Info
Blueberry Tea Mitts by Paula McKeever
Ravelry

This is a simple pattern for only one size (ladies average) mitts. I found the pattern difficult to understand at first. After some re-reading and trial and error, I was able to deduce what the designer intended for me to do.

The pattern contains both written and charted instructions. The thumb gusset is included in the chart, but I thought it was not very clear which stitches were the gusset stitches, and which stitches were the design repeat.

However, the pattern does give you a very nice mitt, so I would use it again, for sure. These finished at about 6.25″ long and 2.75″ across (minus the thumb) relaxed. If I were to make a pair for myself (yes, I’m considering it!), I’d add about 1/4 to 1/2 inch to the top. My hands are bigger around, which pulls the fabric down at the top.

Yarn Info
Knit Picks Stroll Solids
75% superwash wool, 25% nylon
Ash
0.7 skeins = 161.7 yards used

This is a wonderful fingering weight washable yarn. It is very soft and elastic with superb stitch definition. I hand-washed and then machine-dried these before gifting, but they are machine washable. I just know from experience that this yarn does fuzz a little with wear and washing, and I wanted them to look nice when I gave them.

Photos

3 thoughts on “She Knits: Fingerless Mitts for Mom

  1. I love them! I have already used them while on the computer. My hands get cold easier now since I’m getting older. They are warm and soft. Thanks!

  2. Pingback: A Year of Crafting: 2014 | Beloved Brown-Eyed Girl

Leave a Reply

