She Sews: A Soft Book for Sprout

After sewing a little pouch for part of a Christmas gift, I had an itch to do more sewing. Having grown weary of the Walnut Hill Quilt, I decided to sew something new.

When I was pregnant, I frequently came across quiet/busy/soft books on Pinterest, and always thought they looked very neat. Most of the ones I saw were made of felt, which has the benefit of not fraying. Determined to use what I had on hand, I made this one out of quilting cotton scraps.

This all means I had to get creative and engineer pieces with hidden seams and hems to prevent fraying. And I didn’t have fabric pens, so embroidered all of the details by hand. After much trial and error, seam ripping and re-stitching, I have this darling little book to show for my efforts. 🙂

It is far beyond Sprout’s skill set right now, so she will have to grow into this. I enjoyed making this for her, though.

Progression
Started – December 18
Completed – December 22

Pattern Info
No pattern. The page designs are based loosely on quiet/busy/soft books I have seen online.

Fabric Info
Scraps! There are scraps from the wedding quilt I made, the quilt I have in progress now, and some remnants I bought at a fabric store years ago.

The notions are either salvaged or found. The buttons came from my Nana’s button collection; the zipper from an old pair of pants; the beads from my craft stash; the ties on the outside from an old bath-robe.

Photos

3 thoughts on “She Sews: A Soft Book for Sprout

  1. Pingback: A Year of Crafting: 2014 | Beloved Brown-Eyed Girl

Leave a Reply

