Did you know?

I have a separate website where I share designs for knitting, crochet, and even sewing. You can find it by clicking here.

Although I do improvise projects, I do not often share patterns for many reasons. One, I don’t often keep notes on my knitting, I just make it work as I go. Also, writing a pattern complete with images and then uploading that pattern in various places and types of file downloads is hard work! And finally, I rarely work the same design twice. Published patterns really ought to be test knit/crocheted for errors.

With all that said, I’ve published a new design: the Country Bumpkin Christmas Stocking. I offered to knit stockings for one of Nate’s sisters-in-law a few years ago. Her home is filled with antiques and a southern country style, and I couldn’t find any suitable patterns online for stockings that would go with her decor. So I designed one myself! As I needed to knit four of them, I had to keep notes while working the first and the other three served as test knits. After all that work of perfecting the design, I decided to put in a little more effort to publish a nice pattern in case anyone else was hunting for a simplistic Christmas stocking to knit.

Country Bumpkin Christmas Stockings

Country Bumpkin Christmas Stockings

The pattern is available on my designs website, and there is a page in the Ravelry database for it as well (you do not need to be a member to view the pattern entry there). On the online version at my other website, there are also two file download options: one plain text version with no images (and a separate download for just the text charts) and a PDF version with all the bells and whistles.

Whew! This pattern has been in the making for a few weeks, and I must say, I have a new respect for designers who do this for a living. It seemed every time I got things looking just right, I would find some necessary information missing in the pattern. I would have to fix it, then re-upload the pattern to the various websites and note the changes made, etc. It was really tedious! I did it, though, with the hope that someone, somewhere would benefit from it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

