From My Heart

I’m sorry this blog has been so quiet lately. I am working on a few crafty projects, but mostly my attentions have been focused on a certain Little Sprout these days.

I have struggled to find inspiration in writing for this site, and I have realized why that has been. I started this blog as a way to document my crafts and experiences with various hobbies. When I was baptized and then married, I naturally began incorporating some musings on married life, love, and God. That change developed organically. I never faced the fact that my blog was evolving as my life unfurled.

But when I became pregnant, I hesitated to share too much about that part of my life here. I did not want this site to become a “mommy blog,” of which there are already tons. Plus, I did not want to lose the few readers I have gained. They subscribed to a blog primarily about crafts and gardening–would those readers stick around if I started writing about cloth diapers and breastfeeding? I became even more adamant about my decision when Sprout was born, and I have purposely said little about my role as Mother.

Unfortunately, I am now faced with two problems. The first is that I have little to write about with motherhood taken off the table. I have had little crafting time the last few months as I’ve been adjusting to life with a newborn. The second problem is that my brain is over-flowing with struggles and joys I want to write about… but they are “mom” topics like nursing, birth, milestones, breastfeeding, diapers, and products. I have experienced things I want to remember, things I want to someday share with Little Bit.

I have attempted to remedy the second problem by keeping a journal, but the perfectionist in me makes keeping a hand-written diary tedious and so not fun. Also, I feel that my approach to mothering is different from mainstream, and I want to share what I’ve learned with the world. I have considered starting another site where I could write solely about motherhood, but I am one person, and my hobbies and roles are woven together in me. I find it difficult to separate the strands of Mother from those of, say, Knitter.

And so, I am writing to warn you all that I have some Mommy topics coming your way. My life has evolved, I have been given a new role in this world, and I want this blog to grow with me.

a new day

a new day

3 thoughts on “From My Heart

  1. You are doing a remarkable job making time to share your moments with others. I love your crafty moments and your mommy moments! Keep up your willingness to share!

  2. It’s your blog, so it’s up to you! You might attract some different readers, or lose some other readers, but it’s your blog so you should write about what’s important to you. Mine used to be much more craft-based, but now it’s much broader, partly because elderly relatives use it to read up about where I’ve been on holiday and what I’m doing in the garden.

Leave a Reply

