She Crochets: Sprout’s Rainbow Ripple

I hadn’t intended on making a baby blanket for Sprout because I had knit so many clothes for her already. But when a friend’s mom gave me this yarn in rainbow pastels, I changed my mind.

Progression
Started: February 18
Completed: February 28
Days to Completion: 10

These dates are estimates. I started this on a whim one afternoon soon after the baby shower and didn’t take notes about it right after I finished like normal.

Pattern Info
Rainbow Ripple Baby Blanket by Celeste Young
Ravelry

I had this pattern in my “Favorites” on Ravelry for a long time. It is easy to remember, which makes it faster to work.

I could have worked another repeat of pink and yellow, but would have run out of green and blue if I tried to repeat those again. It finished about 36″ across, which is small for a baby blanket. The smaller size, I think, will make it a nice blanket to keep in the car.

Yarn Info
Bernat Baby Coordinates (discontinued)
75% acrylic, 22% acetate, 2% nylon
Baby Pink, 0.06 skeins
Soft Blue, 0.45 skeins
Lemon Custard, 0.2 skeins
Iced Mint, 0.26 skeins
White, 0.35 skeins

This yarn has been discontinued, and that doesn’t really disappoint me. I don’t know that I’d ever buy it after having worked with it once. It is loosely plied with a very loose twist and a single ply of a shiny material (maybe the acetate portion), which yields its characteristic look. However, it is difficult to crochet with, as the plies tend to get caught on the hook. The finished fabric looks nice, though.

I can’t give the yardage amounts here because the labels do not specify yardage, only weight.

Photos

3 thoughts on “She Crochets: Sprout’s Rainbow Ripple

  1. Pingback: A Year of Crafting: 2014 | Beloved Brown-Eyed Girl

Leave a Reply

