She Crochets: Amy’s Blanket

I really love how this gift turned out. I think the colors are perfect for the recipient, and I really hope she likes it. 🙂

Progression:
Started — May 25
Completed — November 7

Pattern Info:
Heirloom Afghan by Darla Sims
Leisure Arts #555, 63 Easy-to-Crochet Pattern Stitches

Many of you may recognize this pattern as the one I used for Mom’s Blanket. This time, I wanted a decently sized lap afghan, so I only worked 35 of the 63 pattern squares. I cherry-picked the 35 based on (1) how solid the block finished (minimizing lace blocks) and (2) how easy I remembered the stitch pattern to be. I chose 11 squares to be off-white, and 12 each to be strawberry and burgundy.

In the end, I worked the last burgundy square in off-white because I did not have enough burgundy to make it. Besides making fewer squares for a smaller blanket, my only other modification was to work only one round of the border. I ran out of off-white and did not want to purchase an entire skein for just one round. The blanket finished at about 42″ by 62″ (3.5 ft by 5 ft).

Yarn Info:
Caron Simply Soft
100% acrylic
Strawberry, 1.94 skeins = 611.1 yds used
Off-White, 2.96 skeins = 932.4 yds used
Burgundy, 1.96 skeins = 617.4 yds used
Total, 6.86 skeins = 2,160.9 yds used

This is the same yarn I used for my mom’s blanket. I like this yarn because of its sheen, softness, bright colors, and stitch definition. I don’t like this yarn because the slippery nature makes the ends/tails difficult to weave in securely. I really like this particular pattern worked in this yarn–I think the shine of the yarn gives the pattern a modernity it otherwise lacks.

2 thoughts on “She Crochets: Amy’s Blanket

  1. Pingback: A Year of Crafting: 2013 | Beloved Brown-Eyed Girl

Leave a Reply

