She Stitches: Collecting Shells

FINALLY!

I have blogged about this cross-stitch project numerous times, and it is actually, really, completely,  totally DONE! Yay! And I do mean finished, framed and all. 🙂 I completed the stitching sometime in early May, bought the frame in early June, and have it ready to give away. This is a very, very belated birthday gift for my dear sister. Actually, her birthday is today, but I intended to give this to her on her 20th birthday. Ahem… today is her 27th. Heh. But, better late than never, right?!

Though I see all of the mistakes in this, I am pleased with the result. I learned a lot about cross-stitching by doing this large project (my second cross-stitch ever!), including the fact that I really like cross-stitching. In fact, I recently bought two more kits, but other projects are ahead of them in line. 🙂

Happy birthday, sis. ❤

Pattern
029-0019 Collecting Shells
Design by Nancy Cole
Manufactured by Janlynn

This was a great pattern. It’s a typical mass-production cross-stitch kit that comes with 14-count Aida fabric, 6-strand cotton floss, a pattern graph, and a basic set of instructions. Janlynn produces interesting designs that range in difficulty and provide very good basic cross-stitch instructions. While instructions for framing are included, I wish they provided clearer direction.

Dimensions
Outer – 20″ x 16″
Inner – 17.5″ x 13.5″
Matted to 13.5″ x 10.5″

Photos

4 thoughts on “She Stitches: Collecting Shells

  1. That’s really pretty! And I can beat your record – my Mum still has a pram set she was sewing for me whilst pregnant, and still isn’t finished – 34 years later!!

  2. Pingback: She Stitches: Four Seasons Birds | Beloved Brown-Eyed Girl

  3. Pingback: A Year of Crafting: 2013 | Beloved Brown-Eyed Girl

Leave a Reply

