Cheers!

nothin' like a daddy

nothin’ like a daddy

My father is a charming, compassionate, witty man who taught me into which tube the oil goes, what kind of man makes a good daddy (which helped me find a good husband), and that doing what you enjoy is success, regardless of the mistakes made along the way. He listens to baseball commentary on AM radio and enjoys being in the crowd at a good ball game. He watches NASCAR, fixes vehicles, and loves a beefy power tool. He told me I could do anything I wanted after getting a college degree: I could go to Paris and paint landscapes, have a huge career and make a lot of money, or work at home as a wife and mother and never “use” my degree–“just get that slip of paper first because if you don’t, you’ll regret it someday.”

I love him dearly, think about him often, and miss him when we are apart.

cat nappin' (3/1995)

cat nappin’ (3/1995)

And that relationship with him has aided in my relationship with my Heavenly Father. I have a great dad, and an awesome Father. Both love me. Both care about my health and happiness.

our faces tell the whole story (12/1990)

our faces tell the whole story (12/1990)

One raised me.

The other has saved me.

Leave a Reply

