She Knits: Carolyn’s Blanket

The fun, confetti/sherbet-colored baby blanket is finished. πŸ™‚ I bound-off yesterday and washed it this morning and was pleased with how the yarn softened in the wash. I love how this came out, and I’m so glad I went with this simple design. I’ll be giving this to the mother tomorrow.

Pattern Info:
improvised

This is a basic basket-weave/checkerboard pattern made by alternating blocks of stockinette (knit facing) and reverse stockinette (purl facing). I made my blocks 6 stitches wide and 6 rows tall. Due to the disproportions of stockinette, the blocks are more rectangular than square. I added a 6 stitch/row border of garter stitch, which turned out thicker on the sides than the top and bottom. Oh well. One beautiful aspect about this simple pattern is that it is completely reversible–perfect for a blanket!

It finished almost exactly 32″ square. It is squishy a little stretchy, so the measurements vary depending where you tug at it. But I think it’s a great size for baby.

Yarn Info:
Bernat Baby Sport Ombre
Tiny Tulips
100% acrylic

The colors are bright and fun, and the acrylic means it can be laundered completely by machine.

Photos:

3 thoughts on “She Knits: Carolyn’s Blanket

  1. Pingback: A Year of Crafting: 2013 | Beloved Brown-Eyed Girl

Leave a Reply

