From Psalms & Proverbs: God is everlasting

The Psalms are adamant that God is everlasting. He was and is and will be for ever and ever. There was no time He was not and there will ne’er be a time He isn’t.

Psalms 96:5 – For all the gods of the nations are idols, but the LORD made the heavens. (He was in the beginning.)

Psalms 96:10 – Say among the nations, “The LORD reigns.” (He is in the present.)

Psalms 96:13 – … they will sing before the LORD, for he comes, he comes to judge the earth. (He will be in the future.)

I know that God has proven Himself in my past and in generations past. There is proof laced throughout the Old Testament of His faithfulness, His promise, His trustworthiness. I also know that God is God of the future, of my future. He will be there for all my tomorrows, providing a way through or around trouble, as He has been faithful to do in my past. I am confident of His character in times past and times to come.

Why, then, do I struggle with letting Him be God of my present? Why do I stubbornly fend for myself instead of leaning on and trusting in Him? He wants my life–He wants me to surrender my life to His will. I know that He loves me and that His plans are infinitely better than anything I could prepare for myself! I know this, but the struggle remains.

Psalms 90:2 – Before the mountains were born or you brought forth the earth and the world, from everlasting to everlasting you are God.

Lord, I know Your help of the past, and I trust fully in Your hope of the future. Help me to surrender my present to You each day. Amen.

5 thoughts on “From Psalms & Proverbs: God is everlasting

  1. Victoria~i fall into the same trap. i put it in His hands, and then grab it right back. It is a struggle of pride I think— by that I mean I do want to put it in His hands. But then I go into my “time to get up and get at…time to get to my list of things to do and or worry about…” rather than asking Him for my marching orders of the day.

Leave a Reply

