WIP Wednesday: Hills, Shells, and Sherbet

As it’s Wednesday and as I’ve got a few projects going now, I thought I’d do a WIP Wednesday post.

First up is the progress on my Walnut Hill Quilt. I have 6 squares completed. Here are the pictures–you’ll have to wait for more details in another post.

squares 1 & 2

squares 1 & 2

squares 3 & 4

squares 3 & 4

squares 5 & 6

squares 5 & 6

I have also made headway on that cross-stitch project from about a decade ago that I recently found. I am currently stitching the water at the top, then will do the back-stitching and be done!

progression

progression

Finally, I have a new project I started yesterday (well, restarted yesterday). It is a baby blanket for my SIL who is due in April. I’ve improvised this simple checkerboard or basket-weave design with a garter stitch border. This stitch pattern makes the blanket fully reversible. The yarn is a sport-weight acrylic I found that is fun and bright and reminds me of rainbow sherbet. I’m holding the yarn double, and the blanket is coming out nicely squish-able, as a baby blanket ought to be. I’ve completed the bottom border and two repeats of the checkerboard design.

sherbet progress

sherbet progress

checkerboard

checkerboard

I’m taking this project this weekend as my traveling WIP. We will be on the road for approximately 26 hours over a 3-day span, so I hope to make good progress on this blanket. I’ve nick-named the project (in my head, at least) Carolyn Sherbet.

2 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday: Hills, Shells, and Sherbet

Leave a Reply

