She Cooks: Italian Seasoned Croutons

I had two slices of homemade (not by me) sourdough bread going stale, so I decided to try making croutons. I’d seen it done on many cooking shows… how hard could it be?

Not hard at all, that’s how hard. In fact, it was so easy, I can’t believe I haven’t been doing this all along instead of buying croutons. I don’t know how this would work with other breads (store-bought wheat, for instance), but I wouldn’t mind testing it to find out.

Italian Seasoned Croutons

Ingredients:
1 cup cubed stale bread of choice (size is up to you)
1 Tbsp. olive oil
1 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. ground black pepper
1/2 Tbsp. Italian seasoning blend (or your choice of herbs/spices)

Process:
Preheat your oven to 400 degrees (F). Place the cubed bread in a bowl and drizzle over the oil. Stir well so that all the bread has some oil on it. Add the seasonings and stir well to coat the bread. Place on a baking sheet in a single layer. Bake until golden brown and slightly crunchy, stirring/flipping the croutons every 3-5 minutes and keeping a watchful eye on them. Remove from the oven and allow to cool completely on the baking sheet. Store in an airtight container.

As these cool, they will become crunchier. I don’t know how long these will keep for (we ate them quickly), but since they have oil in them, you probably want to use them pretty soon. My husband LOVED these… he kept saying, “You made these?!?!”

2 thoughts on “She Cooks: Italian Seasoned Croutons

Leave a Reply

