Year of Crafting: 2012 Comments

The YoC: 2012 post was getting quite long, so I’m publishing my thoughts on it all separately.

The project I am most proud of is JJ & Hilary’s Wedding Quilt. The design process was great fun, as was the actual work. For a first quilt, I think it turned out very nice, especially considering the size of it! Also, I have seen it in use at the recipients’ home, which tells me they like it, too.

The project I am most disappointed with is a tie between the QR Code Throw Pillow and Mason’s Blanket. The entire blanket was a disappointment, and it was made worse by the fact that I had doubts in the beginning. I knew right away that the pattern was not very good and the yarn was not a good match, but knit I did. It’s no wonder I was displeased with the result. But the Throw Pillow–ah, that’s a different kind of disappointment. I was so excited, so hopeful, that it would scan once knitted up and it did, at first anyway. When I finished the pillow form, though, it no longer scanned due to a small error of mine–I did not knit wide enough “borders” to accommodate the curve of the pillow! It was a project that began so well and looked promising until the end.

I am pleased that I knit more socks this year, as I had hoped. I completed four pairs! They took a cumulative 103 days to complete: the longest was Nate’s Socks at 51 and the shortest were my Rippling Ribs Socks at just 11 days. This tells me that with a lot of knitting time available, I can finish a woman’s pair of socks in about two weeks. 🙂 I’ve impressed myself!

Here are my craft-related goals for the new year:

  1. I’d like to sew more projects. I have a dress in the works that I ought to finish, as it’s been languishing for almost a year. It is a project that I can already tell is not turning out well, which makes it difficult to finish. I have fabric and a pattern for a button-down dress shirt for myself that I would like to finish in the new year.
  2. I would like to do more quilting this year. I hope to use up some of the fabric left from the Wedding Quilt to make a couple of wall-hangings, small pieces that will be good quilting practice. It is something I should have done before jumping into a queen-sized gift quilt!
  3. I have been watching videos recently of needle-turn applique, and it looks like something I would enjoy. I hope to learn that in the new year also–I might be able to practice it on one of the wall-hangings I make to practice quilting.
  4. I’ve been reading a lot about cold-process soap-making and really, really hope to try that in the spring (hopefully when we are moved into a new house!). The entire process and the science behind it is quite intriguing, so I have been taking notes and making plans for that. I don’t want to spend a lot of money just to try it, in case I do not find it enjoyable, which is why I am doing a lot of planning in advance.
  5. I have wanted, for a couple of years now, to learn bead crochet. It may have to wait a while, though, because soap-making and applique are higher on my list.
  6. In the knitting world, I’d like to try colorwork. It looks like a great opportunity is presenting itself, but as details are still being negotiated, you will have to wait to hear more about that.
  7. Also in the realm of knitting is more sock-making. I enjoy wearing hand-knit socks much more than I expected, and I find myself disappointed when my three pairs are dirty. I figure that’s a sign that I should knit more. 🙂
  8. I’d like to learn how to incorporate beads into knitted works, too. See number 9 for more details.
  9. I would like to knit another lace piece. I have a project planned that will use the rest of the lace yarn from my Swallowtail and will give me a chance to use beads.
  10. And finally, I want to finish the cross-stitch project I’ve had in the works for about 7 years in time for my sister’s birthday in June. She helped me pick it out so long ago, and I told her I would stitch it for her. I am over halfway done, and am expecting to finish it by June, if not  sooner.
2 thoughts on “Year of Crafting: 2012 Comments

  1. Wow. I would love to help, if you need, with the sewing. I’ve sewn all my life, made button-down shirts, pants, dresses, etc. If you have questions or if we are over there we could get it out and figure what’s needed, or whatever. Just say. 🙂
    So happy for you! Cannot wait to see the next project! 😉

Leave a Reply

