She Knits: Rippling Ribs Socks

I had some leftover sock yarn from two projects I knit a couple years ago, so I customized a pair of socks for myself. I’m pleased with the result.

I improvised the alternating cables ribbed pattern on the instep for knitting appeal more than visual interest. I knew the effect would be somewhat lost in the self-striping pattern of the yarn. It would definitely look better in a solid color, but it made the socks more interesting to knit.

I determined the fit by trying on the socks. I only wish I had began the gusset about 4 or 5 rounds sooner, as they are maybe 1/4″ too long.  As I wear them, they stretch length-wise and become a little loose on my feet. But the leg/calf-shaping is spot-on and the cuff is not too tight. I did not switch to smaller needles for the cuff as most patterns would advise, and I think it was a smart choice.

Pattern Info:
improvised by me

Yarn Info:
Knit Picks Simple Strips
75% superwash wool, 25% nylon

This yarn is great because it doesn’t require hand-washing. After working with this self-striping yarn a few times now, I’ve come to find I just don’t prefer self-striping sock yarns. Patterns become lost in the stripes and plain stockinette socks are just boring to knit! My next two pairs are going to be with heathered yarns, which are multi-colored, but in a more subtle way.

Photos: Click on any photo to enlarge.

4 thoughts on “She Knits: Rippling Ribs Socks

  1. Pingback: A Year of Crafting: 2012 | Beloved Brown-Eyed Girl

Leave a Reply

