She Knits: Lace Swallowtail Shawl

I finished the Swallowtail earlier this week! I’ve been working on it intermittently since mid-January, so I’m pleased it’s finally complete. I am very happy with how it turned out. It blocked to 45″ across the top and 17″ down the spine, which is smaller than the pattern dimensions given. I just could not stretch it any further, so I guess my gauge was a little tight for this. It is still large enough to wear across my shoulders or, even better, as a scarf. I took it out today for a photo shoot at the park.

Pattern Info:
Swallowtail Shawl by Evelyn A. Clark
Ravelry

This pattern was great for a first attempt at lace. It includes written line-by-line instruction as well as charts. I used the charts and found them intuitive and easy to follow. I’ll definitely be looking for charted patterns in the future. This lace pattern does contain nupps (rhymes with “soups”), which were a challenge at first. I ended up having to use a US size 0 nickel-plated DPN to loosen the nupp stitches in order to purl all 5 together on the wrong-side rows. It worked, although it was fiddly and did make those rows go much, much slower (about 30-40 minutes just to get across one wrong-side row).

I ended up with about 15 grams of yarn left, so I could have done an extra repeat of the budding lace, but of course, I didn’t know that at the time. I wish I had, as it’d be bigger. If I ever make this pattern again, I’ll know that I can probably get an extra repeat in with a 50 gram skein of laceweight.

Yarn Info:
Knit Picks Shadow
Oregon Coast Heather (colorway)
100% merino wool

I love, love, LOVE the color of this yarn. It is heathered with tan, purple, and pink tones. I think it’s a great color for me and looks fabulous against a red background (as you can see in one of the photos below). I want to find a dressy red top to wear with it.

This yarn washed and blocked well. I have no complaints. It even withstood the 6 or 7 times I frogged the first 10 rows without looking worn. It’s a great economical yarn that I’ll definitely use in the future, so long as Knit Picks carries it.

Photos:

Swallowtail in the park

center spine and budding lace design

nupps, nupps, nupps! in the lily of the valley border

beautiful against red, no?

4 thoughts on “She Knits: Lace Swallowtail Shawl

  1. Who would have thought of red?! Yes, it is totally gorgeous. You did a beautiful job and I cannot imagine it knitted any more loosely– it looks just fine the way it is. I am so impressed! 😉

  2. Pingback: A Year of Crafting: 2012 | Beloved Brown-Eyed Girl

  3. Pingback: She Knits: Lace Birch Leaf Shawl | Beloved Brown-Eyed Girl

Leave a Reply

