She Knits: Mason’s Sweater

This is my favorite of Mason’s gifts–a sweater. His mom requested I knit her first son a sweater, as he’ll be born in November when the temperatures will start dropping.

Pattern Info:
Top Down Raglan Baby Sweater by Carole Barenys
Ravelry

Mason’s mom requested a simple sweater, nothing fancy. I chose this sweater because it would be my first raglan, it didn’t look too difficult, and it looks like an adult sweater miniaturized. It’s a great pattern, one that I will probably knit many times over. Instructions are given for a couple of sizes, so I worked the newborn size. I know he’ll outgrow it quickly but… but… it’s just so tiny and cute! I had hoped to find matching buttons, but ended up having to use white buttons. And yes, they are sewn on very securely with multiple strands of thread. I can’t wait to see him in this!

Yarn Info:
Universal Yarn Uptown Baby Sport
citrine
100% acrylic

I chose this yarn because it was on sale. I was shocked at the color upon first opening the mail package–it’s very, very bright! But as I knit this up, the color grew on me. After all, babies can pull of neons better than anyone, right? I think the color will make my friend smile. The yarn is shiny and soft, even softer after being washed, and is machine-washable, always a plus for a woman who doesn’t sort her laundry!

a sweater for a baby

button, button, who has the button?

gifts knit with love

2 thoughts on “She Knits: Mason’s Sweater

  1. Pingback: A Year of Crafting: 2012 | Beloved Brown-Eyed Girl

Leave a Reply

