Mother’s Day

I’ve been blessed with a wonderful mother. She is not perfect, and I think I love her more for that. She is honest and open and kind and generous and loving. She adores her children and grandchild and gives all of herself to them. I have so many wonderful memories of her that it’s hard to pick a most favorite, but I’m going to.

When I was young, my family ate out with my grandparents every Friday night. Afterward, we would go to my grandparents’ house and the adults would chat while my sister and I played. My grandparents have a big dining table with padded and upholstered chairs with wheels on them. I love this dining set because it is a large part of so many of my memories. This is the setting of my first memory.

I was about 2 years old and we had returned from eating supper. The adults were talking and there I was, laid tummy down on my mom’s lap (while she sat in one of these soft swivel chairs) with my head against her chest and my full belly on her’s. She was always a soft momma, and I loved that about her. I remember listening to her heart beat and hearing her voice echo in her chest, and I thought that was pretty neat.

That’s the first thing in this life I remember. I’ve always been a bit of a daddy’s girl, but I cherish this first memory as a momma memory.

I have also been blessed with a wonderful mother-in-law. She is generous, loving, gracious, helpful, funny, and a blessed example of a hardworking wife and mother. She raised my husband, homeschooling him and teaching him how to love a woman. I must say, she did a magnificent job in that department! I believe that he is a shining testimony to her devotion to her children. I pray that God will bless me with many more years to get to know this woman better and to be maybe as close to her as I am to my mother.

Happy Mother’s Day to all you mothers out there. The ones who aren’t perfect, but who give 100%, even on the bad days; to all of you who put your children before yourselves; you who area blessing to your children, your grandchildren, and your children-in-law. I thank you, from the bottom of my heart.

2 thoughts on “Mother’s Day

  1. I could not have willingly shared my son with anyone who could not be as thankful as you are. And thank you, dear, for this testimony. You, yourself, are gracious and kind and loving — a true credit to your, and your husband’s, entire families and I thank God for the gift you are and the stunning examply you set. ❤

  2. I’m always amused by you lot celebrating Mother’s Day in May! Seems very very late to me! 😉 (I have friends from the US who bought their cards cheap in the UK after our Mother’s Day, ready to send over there a few months later!)

Leave a Reply

