I Wanted to Say…

Today before my first class started (Biochemistry II at 8 AM), a few of my peers were cramming for an exam they were taking in another class in the afternoon. Apparently it’s a class that all Chemistry/Biochemistry majors take, and the topic of my major came up quickly. The professor laughed and asked why I was even taking Biochem–it’s not required for a Math major and I’ve already satisfied my Natural Science minor requirements.

I wanted to say that it’s because the class is very interesting.

I wanted to say that it’s because he is an entertaining, yet knowledgeable instructor.

I really wanted to say that I’m taking this course because every time class meets I learn something new about God. I learn something new about God’s Creation and His magnificence and His beauty and His love and His ability to form life out of nothing–an ability that no other being in the universe possesses.

That’s what I wanted to say. But what I actually said was, “Well, really easy ‘throw-away’ classes are so boring that I end up doing poorly in them. At least in this class, I have to work hard for a B!” No, it wasn’t a bad response, but the answers in my head were so much better.

6 thoughts on “I Wanted to Say…

  1. It just seems wrong that people have to take easy throw-away classes to finish their degree – university should be about exploring the new and challenging yourself, not making up the modules to get the right number!

    • I agree. In the US, though, the focus is on first creating a well-rounded, overall “educated” person, then honing those skills into a particular field. I think that the overall educated part should be complete by the time the person is 18 and that college should be for diving into a particular field of interest and becoming an expert in that field. But, instead, we baby people until they are 18 and then make them spend 2-3 years getting a “well-rounded education” before letting them specialize. It’s silly.

  2. The purpose of the “baby people” classes is to finance the college. Anyone can teach these classes and often there are 200 in the classroom, making it a big money earner. The classes where five or ten kids want to know more about the intricacies of creation cost the college, because they have to find a teacher who knows something and then they have few paying to attend that course.
    They should make biochemistry a required course, eh? 😉
    Used to be, they made well-roundedness a requirement for entry. Now days, they feel they need higher enrollment, more dorms, more fluff classes, just to keep the college afloat. They used to do that with football, but football now costs so much they have to find a way to boost THAT with empty-of-content classes filled with empty-of-content students. (The catch-up high-school classes are big money-makers.)
    They even pack students in dorms over the fire safety limits, hoping to keep them just until their fees, etc., are no longer refundable. Then the college stops begging them to give it one more try . . . it’s about the money.
    Oh, a few seem to ignore this and go on teaching or learning in spite of it all, and that is wonderful, but the top decisions have to include keeping the place solvent.
    Why, do you think, did you not say what you wanted to say?

    • I agree with you completely about the colleges. Completely.

      I don’t know why I didn’t say what I wanted to say. At least 2 of my peers in the room are Christians; I’m not sure about the professor. Sometimes I think yes, and other times, I think probably not. I think it must have been a lack of courage on my part. I’m still not very confident in my faith, so sharing it with others is… difficult. On top of that, I’m not very good at answering personal questions on the spot.

    • Well, I definitely don’t think he meant to be rude. I think he was just surprised that someone would take a class they aren’t required to have, that’s all. Especially an upper-level class like that.

Leave a Reply

