She Knits: Nate’s Socks

Nate’s long, plain, brown socks are finally complete. 🙂 I enjoyed knitting these for him and would gladly cast on another pair now, but it feels like a huge accomplishment to have them finished. The best part is that they fit so wonderfully and he loves them.

Pattern Info:
Fleegle’s Toe-up Socks by Susan Glinert
Source: Fleegle’s Blog

This pattern is more of a set of guidelines than a real pattern. I obtained a different gauge than what she does in the pattern, so used different numbers. I aimed for 9 stitches per inch because I’ve read that tightly knit socks will wear better. I did follow the toe shaping, gusset increasing, and heel turn instructions. I, however, added calf-shaping because he wanted knee-high socks. This I did by measuring his leg circumference at various spots and using my gauge to get an estimate of tapering, then trying them on him as I knit them. I ended with about 1.5 inches of 1×1 ribbing at the top.

One sock fits a little tighter than the other. On the second sock, I had to use different needles and that one ended up slightly looser, longer, and stretchier. He is happy, though, and that’s what really matters. If I make him another pair, I would definitely use the same pattern (I did write it all down!) except I would begin the toe with 2 fewer stitches because the tip of the toe is just a bit wider than his big toe, so the corners end up in little points. Not a huge deal, but it’s something I will change if I can for future socks.

Yarn Info:
Knit Picks Palette
Fingering weight
Thicket colorway
100% wool

I thoroughly enjoyed working with this yarn. It’s not overly soft; perfect for socks. I can’t comment on how it will wear over time, but it’s spun nicely and I don’t think I came across a single knot in the 2.25 skeins I worked with.

Photos:
Excuse the messy background… he was sitting on the porch for sunlight and the carpeting there is really… erm, ugly.

6 thoughts on “She Knits: Nate’s Socks

  1. Pingback: She Knits: Spring Green Socks | Beloved Brown-Eyed Girl

  2. Pingback: A Year of Crafting: 2012 | Beloved Brown-Eyed Girl

  3. Pingback: She Knits: Baby Socks | Beloved Brown-Eyed Girl

Leave a Reply

