WIP Wednesday

I’m excited to show you these WIPs because I actually have pictures this time. 🙂

I’ve still been chugging along on Nate’s socks. As I started the second heel, one of my bamboo needles broke. I only have one pair in each size, so had to buy new ones. I bought some nickel-plated double-pointed needles from Knit Picks. They came in the mail last Thursday and since then, I’ve really plowed through the second sock. It feels like I can knit faster on these needles, although that doesn’t make much sense. Maybe because of the slicker finish? I don’t know. Anyway, I’ve got a couple more inches to go before working the ribbing. I think Nate is very excited. Here is how it looks so far:

Nate's Sock in progress

Last week I also received a package from Knit Picks containing items purchased with a birthday present gift card from last year. I bought another skein of yarn to finish Nate’s socks (I had to use some of the second for the first sock, so needed another skein.), some locking stitch markers (that I LOVE!), and two hanks of laceweight yarn that looks like this:

Oregon Coast Heather

This is a skein of Knit Picks Shadow, which is a 100% wool laceweight, in the Oregon Coast Heather colorway. It looks like a fairly dull brown in the hank, but is absolutely gorgeous once knitted up. It actually has a strong purple/pink shade to it that I am so excited about. I’ve started the Swallowtail Shawl pattern for myself in this yarn because I wanted to venture into lace knitting. Here’s the shawl in progress:

Swallowtail

It’s a triangle shawl knit from the long straight edge (hypotenuse of the triangle that will eventually lay across the shoulders), down to the tip at the bottom. In the photo above it looks quite crumpled, but that is the nature of lace, so I’ve read. It will look much nicer once it is washed and block. Here are two closer photos:

Swallowtail (and a purple stitch marker!)

Swallowtail

2 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday

Leave a Reply

