Bible Challenge: Week 13

This is another installment to my weekly Bible Challenge posts. Choose the category “Bible Challenge” on the right to read more entries, and read the Introduction post for some background.

Monday:
I didn’t read.

Tuesday: 1 Timothy 4:1-16, 1 Corinthians 15:1-11, Galatians 5:1-15
Since the Bible study I’m using actually goes by the date, I decided to play catch-up today from not reading Sunday or Monday. I am journalling about this study on my computer and am enjoying it so far. The lessons are brief, but thought-provoking, and the extra questions on the side are interesting. The two questions that went along with 1 Corinthians actually stumped me for a while, but more reading and quiet thinking produced some answers.

I hope to maybe revisit this journalling in the future as I gain more understanding of the scripture. I am curious to see if my answers would change.

Wednesday: Romans 8:28-39
This day’s reading was about “discipline with direction.” Instead of elaborating here, I’ve posted a separate blog post about today’s reading.

Thursday: 1 Timothy 1:1-11

Friday: 2 Timothy 3:12-17
These few days I’ve spent a lot of time in 1 and 2 Timothy, which I have read before, but not studied much. These two letters are quite interesting though, and I am learning a lot.

I am enjoying the daily Bible study I’m doing. Each day’s reading and accompanying passage is short and includes two questions at the end. I’ve been journalling through this, discussing the passage and my thoughts and then answering the two questions. Some of the questions have been difficult, but I’ve managed to answer them all and have learned a lot in the process.

I’m not doing my reading in the “Shirkers and Slackers” program, just the study stuff. I didn’t want to overwhelm myself and take on too much at once. I may pick up the other again later on. I hope that Nate and I will start reading out of the S&S program each night, while I do the other study on my own.

Saturday: 1 Timothy 4:1-16
Yes, this passage is the same as a few days ago, but the focal verse was different.

Sunday:
I didn’t read or do my study today. Nate and I spent the entire day being lazy, as I like to do before starting another semester. It was an enjoyable day and before I knew it, we were in bed falling asleep and I realized I hadn’t done my study. I plan to do today’s study tomorrow along with that day in order to catch up.

2 thoughts on “Bible Challenge: Week 13

  1. I find the questions are a bit like being part of a Bible study group – where you find that someone else has a question or an opinion that gives you a different perspective. It helps me get more from the reading than just reading it anyway!

Leave a Reply

