Bible Challenge: Week 12

Alright, folks. It’s been 3 months since I started this personal challenge, so this post will be a recap of the past 12 weeks.

First, I’ll go ahead and mention that I didn’t read my Bible at all over this past week. The husband and I have been away from home for nine days straight visiting family and friends for the holidays. I didn’t pack a Bible because every time I do, we never read it, and this time would have been no different. It’s embarrassing, but it’s the truth.

Over these past 3 months, I’ve had some pretty good weeks and some not-so-good weeks. There have been weeks like this past one where I read only once or twice, if at all. And there’veΒ been a few weeks where I’ve read almost every day. Unfortunately, I have not had a single week of 100% success.

I received a lovely gift in the mail from a friend: a note and a January/February daily devotional. She was in a shop, spotted it, and thought of me. I’m going to read that every day to find encouragement, and I pray that it will help me form a habit of reading every day.

I’ll let you know how it goes. πŸ™‚ If you are also participating or trying to read your Bible every day (maybe it’s your new year’s resolution), please let me know how it’s going or your plans for the new year.

4 thoughts on “Bible Challenge: Week 12

  1. I’m taking your bible challenge to heart…this year I want to read through the entire Old Testament.
    I also want to read from “William and Catherine, With Love” every day. it’s a salvation army daily devotional book.

    God bless you this year!
    Catt

    • Well, I hope you check in every now and then and let me know how you are doing. I read your blog, but never have much to say. πŸ™‚

      May God bless you as well!

  2. Glad it arrived OK! πŸ˜‰ And hope the challenge goes well, I always found trying to commit to something for 2 months easier than having an indefinite period, and it’s long enough to form a new habit.

  3. I’ve been reading a chapter per day for a while, now. It doesn’t get me through the Bible in a year, but I always felt like I was in a race when I tried that, and just really wanted to read.
    I’m in Isaiah, right now. Just finished chapter 16 and am not sure what the prophecies are trying to tell us, but love just being there, in that book, learning–like sitting in a parent’s lap and listening to all the adult conversation around me and not really understanding it, but finding comfort in it, anyway. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

