She Sews: Shirt Pillow Cover

There’s this shirt Nate has had since I met him. In fact, it’s the shirt he was wearing when I met him for the first time. It’s 100% cotton with a brown and white plaid print on it. It’s super soft, and I’ve always loved that shirt on him.

Recently, he put it on when the weather got cold and realized it didn’t fit anymore. The sleeves were too short. 😦 He put it in the rags box.

Last night, I had a brilliant idea. I hate the thought of never seeing that shirt again, and because it’s so soft, I decided it’d make a wonderful pillow cover!

I kept the front pocket in tact and used the button bands to create a removable cushion/pillow cover. The best part is that I didn’t have to sew a single button-hole or attach any buttons! Yay for less work, right?!? It ended up fitting a 14″ square pillow form I bought at Wal-Mart. Well, it mostly fits. The button band bulges a little, but it still looks good.

To top it off, I embroidered a quick little design on the pocket hem to give it a personal touch. A wonky heart and my first initial. I think the heart looks like each half came from a different heart, but it’s cute in its crookedness.

Here are a few photos. As usual, you can click a photo to see a larger version.

4 thoughts on “She Sews: Shirt Pillow Cover

    • He must have grown! It was short in the sleeves by about a half inch, and the back panel was a bit too tight across the shoulders. It’s kind of funny, really.

Leave a Reply

