She Crochets: Fernando’s Bookmark

My mom’s husband is a pretty big reader. He mostly reads novels about cowboys/Indians/the Wild West in Spanish. There’s a flea market my mom and him go to regularly that has a sort of “library” of Spanish books–you pay for them up front, but if you bring one back, you can get another without paying, provided the book hasn’t been ruined. If he finds one that he particularly likes and might re-read, he just keeps it.

I couldn’t think of what to get him for Christmas, but I knew he would appreciate something handmade. So I whipped up this quick bookmark in the Mexican flag colors for him. As with Jessica’s, I used heavy spray starch to stiffen it.

Pattern Info:
I made this design up using a simple offset shell stitch.

Thread Info:
Aunt Lydia’s Classic Crochet (size 10)
Forest Green, White, and Victory Red
100% mercerized cotton

Photos:
Again, I apologize for the blurry photos. My hand is there for reference, and you can click on any image to enlarge it.

One thought on “She Crochets: Fernando’s Bookmark

Leave a Reply

