When the Husband’s Away

Nate left around noon yesterday, as mentioned in a previous post. When he’s away, the house is kind of creepy. Little noises frighten me, and it just feels eerie. I shut the bedroom door at night, which we never do when he’s home. I think this ties into the post I wrote last week about what home really is.

Have you ever stayed over night in someone else’s house without them there with you? Not necessarily a stranger’s house, it may have been a family member’s house that you stayed in and, for whatever reason, the homeowner wasn’t there. Well, I don’t know about you, but to me, that is very high on my “creep-factor” list. It just weirds me out to be in someone’s home when they aren’t there.

That’s the sort of feeling I get at my house when my husband isn’t home. I guess it’s because really, my home is my husband, so to speak. I feel comfortable with him. When he leaves, my home leaves and this place I’m staying in becomes just a house, a building. And it doesn’t even feel like mine.

This makes for many restless and frightening nights. The days are easier, but still rough. I spend as much time as possible out of the house. Nate reminds me to pray when I feel scared. It sounds silly, even as I type it–to be scared of being alone,that is. But I’m easily frightened–a  fragile personality, I suppose. Anyway, Nate’s not been away in a long time, so I haven’t had many opportunities to “practice” my scared-praying.

Well, I’m practicing now.

Reading my Bible and praying eases a lot of fear, as it should. I pray for God to keep His hand over me, that I may feel His presence and serenity. I have more nightmares when Nate isn’t home, so I pray for good dreams and restful nights, too.

I can’t wait for him to be home.

6 thoughts on “When the Husband’s Away

    • Thank you, Kathy. I don’t know why it’s such a problem, but I’ve built my “home” with him, so when he’s gone, it’s really hard. I did sleep well last night, read out of Psalms before bed and then prayed. I have to remember that Jesus is my Comfortor and my Safety. I appreciate the prayers.

  1. I’m the exact same way. I’m absolutely terrified when I’m alone in the house. Even if my children are here, and I have a dog too, I’m still scared. I sleep with all the lights on, if I sleep at all.
    I hope that Nate is home soon!

    Catt

  2. It used to bother me when I first lived on my own, but I just got used to it – had to readjust when I married N and there was someone else around the place! Have you tried having a radio on quietly in the background? I used to listen to BBC radio 4 all the time when I lived on my own – no annoying adverts and plenty of interesting stuff to listen to.

    • The radio in our house doesn’t pick up signals very well, but that is a good idea. I might have to play with the antenna again and see if I can get it to pick up something good.

Leave a Reply

