Life

I haven’t had much to say recently. Life’s been getting in the way.

This week is the last week of classes before finals, and it’s the week of every semester that I despise the most. Every professor crams at least one last exam in before finals, usually covering a chapter every class period. It’s safe to say the chapters are not very thoroughly discussed. Then, the student is expected to read the chapters and fill in the blanks the professor left.

That’s all fine and dandy except that every professor is doing this all in the same week. Read 6 chapters this week? It’s not going to happen. Even if I did cram all that reading in, I wouldn’t remember a lick of it!

I have a take-home exam due in Physics tomorrow, then will have an exam in Probability/Statistics sometime next week, Meteorology Lecture and Lab exams Thursday evening, and then a Biochemistry exam scheduled for Friday. Just to put this in perspective, those are all the classes I’m taking this semester!

Tomorrow, I have my next appointment at the clinic. I’m not looking forward to that because last time, they had to draw blood from the back of my hand (ouch!). I’ve been drinking a lot of water, hoping it will help plump up my veins or something.

And Tuesday, I am presenting my senior seminar project. It’s a 20-minute proof of a theorem I’ve chosen. I’m a little nervous, but I think it will be alright.

At least the Christmas knitting I have to finish is nearly done and is enjoyable. I’m ready to start the heel on Cassie’s second sock. I worked up a quick bookmark over the weekend as well to go along with a gift that I won’t mention yet. I’m hoping to do another bookmark also, but will probably have to improvise the design for it.

On top of all this, Nate left a bit ago for Alabama, where he’ll be at least over the next week. It’s been scheduled as a week in Alabama for a couple of months, but someone hinted recently that they might “need him for a couple extra days.” I don’t like when he’s gone.

We are still in the process of getting this house. We have to get letters of credit history from some of our lenders–just got one in the mail yesterday, have another on the way, and Nate has to call two more companies tomorrow. Then we have to write a letter and get our landlord to sign it, then send everything to the guy at the bank. He can’t proceed with the loan process until he gets these letters.

So, with all this going on, I’ve been lazy in my Bible reading. If you’ve been following my Bible Challenge, you’ll see this (next update will be up tomorrow). I am frustrated with myself, and that verse from Romans keeps coming to mind, when Paul discusses how he wants to do good, but he doesn’t. I want to read my Bible, but I don’t. I’m praying for diligence and self-control in this issue, that I can stop being lazy and read!

There’s my life in a nutshell over the past week and what is coming up in the next week or two.

4 thoughts on “Life

  1. Good luck with all those exams! And for tomorrow – only had a needle in the back of my hand once, and that was for an operation in hospital so I wasn’t really aware of what was going on. It sounds very ouch…

  2. Oh, Dear! I have missed all the posts about your trips to the clinic. I hope with all my heart you are okay, or you condition is, as you put it, an easy fix. Praying you will have a better time of it this time, with the blood tests, if you need one. Keep us posted, okay? Love you to pieces.

    • I haven’t really posted much about it, except on my Bible Challenge posts. I’m being tested for a thyroid condition. While I don’t want to have a “condition”, hypothyroidism would explain a LOT of unusual problems I’ve had over the past 5-10 years. So it would at least be an easily treatable explanation.

      I’ll definitely be having another blood test done tomorrow. The first one, a month ago, was “abnormal”… it’s typical that they will do another test a month later if the first is unusual, mostly to rule out hormonal or other reasons for symptoms. I would expect to hear the results of this test by the end of the week if they are abnormal too.

      So, now you’re all caught up, if you read this! I will try to keep you posted once I hear something.

    • I am sorry I did not pay closer attention. I’ve been rather busy and rather sick. Just beginning to sleep nights, not coughing so much. I had sinus infections and double ear infections and I think the antibiotics are not helping the ears at all. Then today I twisted my ankle. Always something!
      Take good care of you–want to keep you for a long time!

Leave a Reply

