Bible Challenge: Week 2

This is a post summarizing my efforts in my Bible challenge.  You can read about how this began by clicking here.

Monday:
I did not read this day.  I was in class all morning, and we had company in the evening so I cleaned the house all afternoon.  It’s a poor excuse, though, and I am sure I could have made time for reading.

I am praying for guidance in my life.  I am nearing a sort of crossroads, and I need to make some decisions.

Tuesday:
I did not read on Tuesday out of laziness, but read Tuesday’s readings the following day.

I’m still praying for guidance and diligence, and have now added self-control to the list.  I am praying for my husband as well.

Wednesday:  Job 16-18 and Judges 5-7
I read for the first time this week.  I purposely woke up early with my husband so that I would have time to read.  After reading today’s scripture out of Job, I flipped over to Judges and read yesterday’s portion.

I enjoyed learning about Gideon.   I can relate to him because he was the youngest of his family and he actually questioned God’s call on him!  In Judges 6:15, Gideon expresses his doubt.  He then asks God for a sign that it is really God speaking to him, and later requests signs of God’s promise to save Israel (Judges 6:36-40).  Gideon has doubts, but he brings them to the Lord’s feet and asks the Lord to help him trust–and each time, God honors his request for a sign.  It is easy to say that Gideon should have trusted God without the signs.  I think maybe he trusted God in his heart, but his mind needed a bit of convincing.

Thursday:  John 3
My husband read to me out of John 3 this morning, but I did not read on my own.  I was being lazy and slept more before class instead of getting up and reading.  Forming new habits is hard.

It is also hard to type something like “I didn’t read today.”  It’s embarrassing, and honestly, I’d rather not tell you readers that I’ve failed in my challenge.  But that’s the whole point of it, isn’t it?  As long as I am honest and don’t lie about reading, the embarrassment, which is really an extension of my own guilty conscience, should spur me to read more often, thus enforcing the habit I’m attempting to create.  It’s not fun to say that I failed more often in a week than I was successful, but it’s all part of the process.

I am praying for more time to share the Bible with my husband.  I really love reading together with him; we used to do that a lot more than we do now.  It’s half, if not more, my fault for not making the time and asking to spend it reading the Bible with him.

Friday:  Matthew 10-12
I took special care to read today.  I was up early enough that I had plenty of time to read before class.  I really like reading about Jesus’ teachings because He was honest, yet compassionate; condemning, yet kind; humble, yet so much more important than those He served/serves.  His words increase my guilty feelings while His suffering causes me to want even more to do right.

I am praying for a good weekend.  We are having company again, my brother- and sister-in-law and their kids.  I’m excited and would like to have a great time with them.

Saturday:
I didn’t read this day.  We had company come in the afternoon to stay the night, and I spent the morning tidying the house, making Sunday’s breakfast, and washing sheets.  Again, that’s still no excuse and I know that I did have time to read, I just didn’t.

Sunday:
I didn’t read today, either.  Our company left in the afternoon, and I was “too tired” to read–more like, I didn’t make time, again.

I am praying for motivation as a new week in this challenge begins.

2 thoughts on “Bible Challenge: Week 2

  1. Have you tried reading at a different time? I tried for months to do Bible reading first thing in the morning when I woke up, but I just couldn’t do it, it isn’t a time I’d normally read anything and it never became a habit. But last thing at night works really well for me! My Dad used to take his Bible reading notes to work along with his packed lunch so obviously lunchtime worked better for him!

    • I tried reading in the morning–no go as I’m just not awake enough. Then I tried reading before bed, but again, no go because we go to bed at various times and are often so tired that we just fall into bed. I just need to be more diligent and read at down times during the day, I think.

Leave a Reply

