Birthday Fun

Over the weekend, Nate and I visited my family in my hometown, which is an 8-hour drive one way, to celebrate my birthday with them (the 16th).  I’d been missing my dad especially and felt refreshed after spending some time with him.  I also got to see my 2-year-old half-sister, my grandparents, my mom, my sister, and my niece.  All of them have their share of troubles, but they are mostly doing well, and that is happy news.

I had a great birthday and even enjoyed the car ride back home with Nate.  I normally take many little cat naps when we make that drive, but this weekend, I didn’t sleep a wink on the way down or the way back up.  We talked and joked, and I really liked having that time together.

We had some down-time over the weekend, but I generally felt “busy” the entire time.  Coming in late last night, we dropped our bags and hit the sack immediately.  Today, we had company for supper–our neighbors from across the street and Nate’s boss and his wife.  After spending an hour at the store picking up supper ingredients, I came home and speed-cleaned, rushing from room to room, space to space, finding places for things and tidying and sweeping and dusting.  I got everything sorted out in an hour and a half and whew!  I was tuckered out!

We had a wonderful visit with our friends over a nice, simple meal–steaks cooked on the grill, mashed potatoes, corn-on-the-cobb, salad, and fried pickles and jalapeno!  Then, we enjoyed two great desserts that one of our friends brought–a lemon ice-box pie and a three-layer chocolate dish.  Perfect.  I got to hear some funny jokes and hilarious stories and laughed a lot.

I really have had one of the best birthdays in a long time.  I got to see most of the people I love the most, enjoyed a lot of great food over a few days, laughed a lot, cried a little, and wouldn’t have changed a thing!

One thought on “Birthday Fun

Leave a Reply

