Bible Challenge: Introduction

Problem:  I don’t read the Bible every day.  Solution:  Read the Bible every day.

Sounds simple, doesn’t it?  Yet, I struggle.  I’ve been searching for an explanation of this war with myself, but am only reminded time and again of Paul’s writing in Romans 7:21-25 (NIV quoted below):

“So I find this law at work:  Although I want to do good, evil is right there with me.  For in my inner being I delight in God’s law; but I see another law at work in me, waging war against the law of my mind and making me a prisoner of the law of sin at work within me.  What a wretched man I am!  Who will rescue me from this body that is subject to death?  Thanks be to God, who delivers me through Jesus Christ our Lord!”

My goals for this challenge:

  • Become a better steward of God’s gift of time.
  • Mature in my prayer life so that I may be more confident when I pray.
  • Discover how to fully submit to God’s Will in all things so that He may use me for His glory.
  • Learn to properly submit to my husband, which is an extension of my submission to God.

Now enter the brilliant idea that came to me late last night:  a personal Bible challenge that I blog about for others to read in order to ensure accountability and inspire diligence in my efforts.  I will post every Saturday with a list of what I read the previous week, my thoughts on the passages, and specific things I am praying about.  I will be using the “Read Through the Bible Program for Shirkers and Slackers” that I started many months ago.

My prayer is that I will form a habit of reading God’s Word daily, and that perhaps I will inspire another Christian to open their Bible and read as well.

Weekly posts will be categorized under “Bible Challenge,” so that you can more easily find those posts.  Subscribing to the blog is another great way to keep up with them, if you are so inclined. 😉

15 thoughts on “Bible Challenge: Introduction

  1. I struggle with this as well. I desire an intimate relationship with God, so it’s not that I lack in want, it’s that I fail to make Him a priority. My husband and I just started Beth Moore’s Fruit of the Spirit. 10 week study with daily homework. I have completed many bible studies with in-depth homework. Will I be in the bible daily? Yes. Will the goal be to check off the daily task of completing homework or to get to my Father through His word? I pray the latter.

    I am eager to follow your journey.

    In Christ,
    Erica

  2. Pingback: Bible Challenge: Week 2 | Beloved Brown-Eyed Girl

  3. Pingback: Bible Challenge: Week 3 | Beloved Brown-Eyed Girl

  4. Pingback: Bible Challenge: Week 5 | Beloved Brown-Eyed Girl

    • Hey, I’ve inspired someone! How cool!

      I’ll add your blog to my reading list so I can keep up with you. 🙂 Maybe we can keep each other on the right track! Thanks for stopping in.

  5. Pingback: Bible Challenge: Week 6 | Beloved Brown-Eyed Girl

  6. Pingback: Bible Challenge: Week 7 | Beloved Brown-Eyed Girl

  7. Pingback: Bible Challenge: Week 8 | Beloved Brown-Eyed Girl

  8. Pingback: Bible Challenge: Week 9 | Beloved Brown-Eyed Girl

  9. Pingback: Bible Challenge: Week 10 | Beloved Brown-Eyed Girl

  10. Pingback: Bible Challenge: Week 15 | Beloved Brown-Eyed Girl

  11. Pingback: Bible Challenge: Week 4 | Beloved Brown-Eyed Girl

Leave a Reply

