Buttermilk Blueberry Breakfast Cake

I made this cake this afternoon after getting an itch to bake.  I had most of the ingredients (needed the buttermilk, blueberries, and lemon), so made a trip to the store and started as soon as I got home.
 
This was a really easy cake to make.  It turned out very moist, kind of crumbly, but very, very delicious.  We ate some for dessert tonight, and I bet we will have it for breakfast!  I think it’d go well with a cup of coffee.
 
I can imagine this cake with strawberries, blackberries, or raspberries in place of the blueberries.  I even think diced or sliced apples with maybe 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon mixed in would be fabulous.  The batter seems very versatile.
 
If you like cake for breakfast, you should definitely give this one a try.  (I took a few photos, but the ones on the original website are way better; linked above in first line.)
 
Leave a Reply

